• Information about this blog

Who is Scott Sommers?

I am currently a doctoral candidate in the Chinese-taught program in Educational Psychology at National Taiwan Normal University and instructor in the English Language Center at Ming Chuan University in Taipei, Taiwan. I have lived in Taiwan since 1996, and before this, taught at a variety of universities, colleges and high schools in Japan and South Korea.

My research interests cover a wide range of topics. The research undertaken for my doctoral work is a technical examination of rating scales and the way in which multiple ratings can affect rating outcomes. It is a practical study with applications in test development and design. In addition to this, I have published work on Taiwan history and also political aspects of conspiracy theory in the USA.

I have been awarded a blue belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu by Tommy Hsieh, who at the time was the highest ranking BJJ coach in Taiwan. I am also one of only a handful of foreign residents, and the first Canadian ever, to be awarded a black belt in Judo by the ROC Judo Federation. On 28 November 2008, I was a member of the five-man over-40 team from Shuang Yuan Judo that won a gold medal at the Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Cup (national championships). I played rugby union for many years in Canada, Japan and South Korea for such teams as the Taipei Baboons. I consider the Seoul Survivors Rugby Football Club to be my spiritual guardians.

I am married and live with my wife and daughter. We have a cat. Anyone is invited to see pictures of all this on my Facebook.

Leave a comment